The PPE Program is genuinely interdisciplinary, and in particular advances research collaborations among the Department of Philosophy, the Department of Political Science, and the Department of Economics at Virginia Tech. The faculty of the PPE Program works across the whole field of PPE, including the history and methodology of ethical, political, and economic thought; philosophy of economics; formal methods such as rational choice theory and game theory; welfare economics; political economy; distributive justice; global justice; and foundational questions of public policy.

The PPE Program also maintains close collaborations with other disciplines on campus that work on problems that have social, ethical, economic, and political dimensions, in particular the fields of public and international affairs, business, engineering, geography, agricultural and applied economics, fish and wildlife conservation, and forest resources and environmental conservation.


Publications

Gil Hersch

Ignoring Easterlin: Why Easterlin’s Correlation Findings Need Not Matter to Public Policy (forthcoming)

Sudipta Sarangi (et al.)

Network Formation when Agents Seek Confirmation of Information (forthcoming)

Michael Moehler

The Rawls-Harsanyi Dispute: A Moral Point of View (forthcoming)

Eric Bahel

Cooperation and Subgame Perfect Equilibria in Global Pollution Problems with a Critical Threshold (forthcoming)

Daniel Wodak

What Does ‘Legal Obligation’ Mean? (forthcoming)

Melinda Miller

Selection and Historical Height Data (forthcoming)

David Bieri

Back to the Future: Lösch, Isard, and the Role of Money and Credit in the Space-Economy (2017)

Nicholas Goedert

The Pseudo-Paradox of Partisan Mapmaking and Congressional Competition (2017)

Adam Dominiak (et al.)

Coherent Dempster–Shafer Equilibrium and Ambiguous Signals (2017)

Edward Weisband

The Macabresque: Human Violation and Hate in Genocide, Mass Atrocity and Enemy-Making (2017)

Michael Moehler

In Defense of a Democratic Productivist Welfare State (2017)

Andy Scerri

Deep Ecology, the Holistic Critique of Enlightenment Dualism and the Irony of History (2016)

Karen Hult (et al.)

White House Evolution and Institutionalization: The Office of Chief of Staff since Reagan (2016)


Affiliated Faculty

Kathleen Alexander

Associate Professor
Fish & Wildlife Conservation
kathyalx@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Systems Biology, Ecosystems, Infectious Disease Dynamics, Public Health, Climate Change

Eric Bahel

Associate Professor
Economics
erbahel@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Microeconomic Theory, Game Theory, Resource Economics

David Bieri

Associate Professor
SPIA
bieri@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Spatial Economics, Monetary Economics, History of Economic Thought

Daniel Breslau

Associate Professor
STS
dbreslau@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Economic Sociology, Sociology of the Social Sciences, Politics of Energy Markets

Mauro Caraccioli

Assistant Professor
Political Science
mauroj@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Political Theory, International Relations, Latin American Studies/Politics

Cara Daggett

Assistant Professor
Political Science
cdaggett@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Environment and Energy Politics, International Relations, Critical Security, Feminism and Gender Politics, Political Theory

Claudio D'Amato

PPE Fellow
Philosophy
claudio1@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Global Ethics, Political Philosophy, Capability Approach, Distributive Justice

Adam Dominiak

Associate Professor
Economics
dominiak@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Microeconomic Theory, Decision Theory, Interactive Epistemology, Experimental Economics

Michael Ellerbrock

Professor
Ag. & Applied Economics
mebrock@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Nicholas Goedert

Assistant Professor
Political Science
ngoedert@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Congressional Politics, Electoral Institutions, Election Law, Formal Political Theory

Gil Hersch

Postdoctoral Fellow
PPE Program
hersch@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Well-Being, Deception, Public Policy, Financial Markets

Siddharth Hari

Assistant Professor
Economics
sh2599@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Development Economics, Political Economy

Sukaina Hirji

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
shirji@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Ancient Philosophy, Normative Ethics, Virtue Ethics, Philosophy of Well-Being

Karen Hult

Professor
Political Science
khult@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Organizational and Institutional Theory, U.S. Presidency, Executive Branch Bureaucracies

James C. Klagge

Professor
Philosophy
jklagge@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Ludwig Wittgenstein, Moral Philosophy, Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy

Matt Kovach

Assistant Professor
Economics
mkovach@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Microeconomic Theory, Behavioral Economics, Decision Theory, Game Theory

Douglas Lind

Professor
Philosophy
douglas.lind@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Environmental Ethics, Indigenous Law, Judicial Practice, Legal Fictions, Pragmatism

Tim Luke

Uni. Distinguished Professor
Political Science
twluke@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Environmental Politics, Cultural Studies, Comparative Politics, Political Economy

Christian Matheis

Visiting Assistant Professor
SPIA
matheisc@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Social and Political Philosophy, Ethics, Public Policy, Public Engagement

Deborah Mayo

Professor
Philosophy
mayod@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Philosophy of Statistics, Philosophy of Science, Risk Analysis

Melinda Miller

Assistant Professor
Economics
millermc@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Economic History, Demography, Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics

Michael Moehler

Director PPE Program
Philosophy
moehler@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Ethics and Political Philosophy, Political Economy, Distributive Justice, Classical Liberalism

Wayne Moore

Associate Professor
Political Science
wmoore@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Constitutional Law and Politics, Constitutional and Political Development

Scott Nelson

Associate Professor
Political Science
scnelson@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Global Governance, Political Economy, Contemporary Political Theory

Joseph Pitt

Professor
Philosophy
jcpitt@nullvt.edu

Expertise: History and Philosophy of Science and Technology, Galileo, Wilfrid Sellars Pragmatism, Hume

Besnik Pula

Assistant Professor
Political Science
bpula@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Global and Comparative Political Economy, Post-Communist Transformations

Ken Reid

Associate Professor
Engineering Education
kenreid@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Engineering Education

Lynn Resler

Associate Professor
Geography
resler@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Biogeography, Field Methods, Parks and Public Lands

Thomas Rowe

Postdoctoral Fellow
PPE Program
tmrowe@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Ethics and Political Philosophy, Risk and Uncertainty, Philosophy and Public Policy

Sudipta Sarangi

Professor
Economics
ssarangi@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Microeconomics theory, Networks, Experiments, Development Economics

Andrew Scerri

Assistant Professor
Political Science
ajscerri@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Urban Redevelopment, Sustainability, Green Urbanization

Dan Simundza

Research Specialist
Global Forum
simundza@nullusc.edu

Expertise: Law and Economics, Urban Economics, Public Economics

Aris Spanos

Professor
Economics
aris@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Econometrics, Modeling, Philosophy and Methodology, Foundations of Statistics

Nicolaus Tideman

Professor
Economics
ntideman@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Economic Justice, Land Value Taxation, Voting Rules, Proportional Representation

Steve Trost

Assistant Professor
Economics
strost@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Applied Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, International Trade

Gerelt Tserenjigmid

Assistant Professor
Economics
gerelt@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Microeconomic Theory, Decision Theory, Behavioral Economics, Game Theory

Edward Weisband

Professor
Political Science
weisband@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Political Economy, Labor Standards, Political Ethics, Political History

Donna Wertalik

Associate Professor
Marketing
wertalikd@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Social Media, Data Analysis, Community Management, Marketing Communications

Daniel Wodak

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
dwodak@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Metaethics, Philosophy of Law, Ethics, Philosophy of Language

Richard Wokutch

Professor
Management
wokutch@nullvt.edu

Expertise: Business Ethics, Corporate Social Responsibility, International Business Ethics